Archive | April 2013

Freshly Published: April 2013

Although Spring seems to be hiding throughout most parts of the world. This luckily doesn’t stop books being published! Here’s what’s freshly available this month! All summaries are from Goodreads. 

Taken (Taken #1) by Erin Bowman (April 16th)

Taken

There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys—but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends…and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate–until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot–a structure that no one can cross and survive.

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken–or risk everything on the hope of the other side?

The Program (Program #1) by Suzanne Young (April 30th)

The program

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.

This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E Smith (April 2nd)

Happy

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds. 

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs? 

The Ward by Jordana Frankel (April 30th)

The Ward

Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

Acid by Emma Pass (April 25th)

Acid

2113. In Jenna Strong’s world, ACID – the most brutal, controlling police force in history – rule supreme. No throwaway comment or muttered dissent goes unnoticed – or unpunished. And it was ACID agents who locked Jenna away for life, for a bloody crime she struggles to remember.

The only female inmate in a violent high-security prison, Jenna has learned to survive by any means necessary. And when a mysterious rebel group breaks her out, she must use her strength, speed and skill to stay one step ahead of ACID – and to uncover the truth about what really happened on that dark night two years ago.

That’s it for now! Do any of the title grab your attention? 

Ashleyisee xx

Take Part: The Carnaby Book Exchange

DSCF1277

A few weeks ago I found a post on Tumblr discussing the amazing free book swap ‘The Carnaby Book Exchange‘ based in Kingly Court just off of Carnaby Street in Central London. I’d been meaning to go but recent events staggered my venture until a friend came into town and we happened to be walking by. 

DSCF1212

We found it no problem (it’s on the first floor next to ‘Everything British’ which is just as delightful) and I took as many pictures as possible. 

DSCF1213

There’ s a big notebook where you write down what book you’ve left and what your taking away in exchange. I had a good nose around and of course wasn’t too impressed (but not surprised) that Twilight of course was available. 

DSCF1216

I left The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern for a lucky passerby, and took Evermore by Alyson Noel in exchange. There is a large range of different books available and I recommend anyone and everyone who is in the area to participate in the exchange! It’s such a neat idea and I hope it stays around for as long as possible. 

DSCF1276

Until next time

Ashleyisee xx

Book Review: Teeth by Hannah Moskowitz

Teeth cover 1

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 18.20.50

Rudy is 16, lives with his parents and terminally ill five-year-old brother Dylan. He needs a lung transplant. Their parents learned of an isolated island that grows a miracle fish. It doesn’t spoil, it doesn’t smell and whoever eats it magically becomes well over time.

There are other things that live in the water, and secrets about the people that reside on the island. When Rudy rescues Teeth from a fisherman he embarks on a journey of discovery about human nature and the ethics of power.  Alone on this freezing piece of Earth, Rudy must choose between family and what’s right.

What a fantastic read! Although parents – be forewarned there is a lot of swearing in this book. The language aside, this book was interesting, different and held my attention the likes I haven’t come across in a few weeks. Full of inner conflict this book will hook you into debating what you would choose to do in Rudy’s situation.

Can I also say that one of the characters is male and gay? Absolutely fantastic to get some diversity in the genre! You’ll feel the cold wind blow and smell the salty air.  Give Rudy’s story a chance and open your heart to Teeth. Everyone deserves to explain their own point of view. 

Book Reviews: Black Door by Evans Light

Black Door cover

Screen shot 2013-04-01 at 14.20.35

Eleven-year-old William, his father and two younger brothers are on their way to a new Summer Camp as their local favourite is out of operation.

What starts as a long car trip turns into a journey through an unknown environment with a starkly painted black door…

What’s behind the door? Why are the campgrounds abandoned? Several questions that might be answered should William take that first step through the black door.

This is a short story perfect for reading to eight-year-olds and above around the campfire. But be warned – there will be a lot of questions!

It’s such a short read that most of my review is really in my rating. I obviously wanted more, but for it’s age range it’s great to kick start imaginations. A good example for kids looking for the next step up in a reading challenge Black Door will keep them turning the pages! 

Literary Inspired Item: Litographs!

For those of you that aren’t familiar with Kickstarter, it’s a website used by people to promote funding for any kind of starter project. Litographs is such a project and a fabulous one that is well deserved! 

What is Litographs? In short – it’s a start up company that creates posters and T-shirts composed of a literary design that are made entirely out of the words of the book itself! Take for instance this new design of ‘The Great Gatsby‘:

gatbsy print

The text is fully legible and the poster prints come in two sizes. Can’t you just picture one in your dinning room?

print size

The T-shirts are just as legible although due to the seams some bits are blurred as it is rightly sew (haha). Still, I can’t imagine a more beautiful way to pay homage to an amazing book! How cool is the shirt of Peter Pan?

Peter Pan Shirt front

Peter Pan Back

Want to know more about this amazing company? Here’s their ‘About’ info:

“Books as Art

Litographs are prints that are created from the text of classic books. For most titles we are able to print the entire book on our 24×36″ paper. We offer designs in both color and black & white, and in two sizes.

In all cases, the text is sharp and fully legible. You can see the actual size of the text by viewing any of our designs and clicking on the boxes in the main image.

Our Mission

Litographs is committed to promoting literacy, both at home and abroad.

We’re proud to partner with the International Book Bank to send one new, high-quality book to a community in need for each poster we sell.

The Team

My name is Danny Fein, and I founded Litographs because I love books. I can’t imagine growing up without them, and want to do everything I can to make sure that students and communities around the world have access to literature and learning materials.

Litographs are a labor of love, and a product I’m absolutely proud to offer. They have proved to be more than just decoration on my walls. They are conversation starters and windows into my beliefs, and add character to my home.

Please feel free to get in touch with me at danny@litographs.com with any questions, suggestions, or thoughts.”

Beautiful designs, an amazing message and helping spread books around the world? Plus they ship internationally! What is not to love about this? Nothing! I praise Danny for his brilliant passion for books and ability to share this love with other book lovers around the globe. 

I can’t wait to get my own print but which one to buy is the only problem….

Until next time. Many thanks to PrettyBooks for posting this on Tumblr!

Ashleyisee xx

*All photos are from the Litograph website