Archive | January 2014

BooksILove: A Beautiful Book Recommendation App for iPhone

HELLO lovelies! 

Where, where, where have I been?

I have much content to bring you! Book signing events, more WA bookstores and reviews of books themselves! So much to discover and share with my dear followers! 

However, I must admit that most of my attention has been on work, but as it’s related I can finally share with you what it’s all about, as it’s now available for iPhone iOS7!

iphone-tilt

I’m apart of the amazing team behind the BooksILove app!

Screen shot 2014-01-30 at 09.57.07

We’ve all had those conversations – Over drinks, when leaving the office, on the bus, out shopping: A friend shares the amazing things about why they love the latest book they’re reading. But then, how do you remember afterwards? A scrap of paper? In a digital note? Was it just the author? Or maybe a bit of the book title? When you finally get the chance to head to the library or bookstore, are you able to remember what the book was? Although the discussion was productive, this spark of life for the book is essentially lost most of the time – BUT NO LONGER!

phone photo

The BooksILove app is all about capturing and sharing recommendations about favorite books on the go! Here’s the press release from one of the founders, Elizabeth Dimarco, her wording is way better than mine:

“Our app allows you to send personal recommendations to friends and remember their favorites, too. Capture why you love a book by simply tapping icons that represent the best elements of the book. Do you love the hero? The plot? With over 75 beautiful icons available, you can pick exactly why you love the book and generate a thoughtful recommendation. Share your opinion with others via email and Facebook. Store your books, personal thoughts, and books recommended by friends, all in one mobile device.”

There is even a video on how the app works! Check it out!

iphone-straight

This is only the beginning! 

Important bits:

The app is available NOW for iPhone IT’S FREE! You must have iOS7 

Currently it’s only available for the US and Canada (we’re working on the next steps for other English-speaking countries) 

We want your feedback! Please email us at realpeople@booksilove.com

Want the social? Follow us on –

Twitter

Facebook

Pinterest

LinkedIn

Web

Want to send me a recommendation? Email me at ashley@booksilove.com!

All photos are courtesy of BooksILove, BFF BIZ, LLC and Ratio.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2014

Hello readers!

It’s been a super busy year and it’s only the first full week! (and a Tuesday at that).

Have a look around, I’ve made some design changes, which I hope you find to your liking. 

I want to take part in The Broke and Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday. Here are ten goals I want for my reading and blogging year:

1. Buy at least one book from an independent bookstore each month

I did this last year and it really helped me discover new bookstores. It made buying books a bit more challenging, which I didn’t expect but I strongly want to help independent bookstores anyway I can. 

2. Visit a new independent bookstore each month

There are so many booksellers in Washington! I’ve loved doing my Washington State Bookstore tours and will keep it up for this year! (hopefully it will be more regular).

3. Try not to overblog

I think my blogging schedule from last year got to be too much. I want to make sure interesting and fresh content is available for you my dear readers and followers, so I will be taking a step back and making sure it’s more quality and not quantity. 

4. Take joy in rereading books

I was too focused on fulfilling my reading challenges last year (Goodread challenge – completed, Authors A-Z – completed, titles A-Z – not completed), that I couldn’t take the time and get lost in a favorite book that I’ve already read. You discover new things when rediscovering a book and I want to allow that this year.

5. Read every single book bought that has not been read yet

This is like 10 books. (remember, I’ve had to made a trans-atlantic move last year). Should be easier to spread it out through the year. I’ll post a list in my challenges section later this month of the titles I need to read.

6. Read The Kite Runner

Because I was supposed to read it last year but didn’t. Maybe this year will be the year.

7. Go to more author book signings!

They are so fun and there are amazing writers in Washington! I can’t wait to share with you more author signing adventures!

8. Start the outline for my own book

Gasp! Yes, I am one of those people that wants to write a book. There has been something that’s brewing. It has for awhile. If anything, it could just be an outline for this year’s NaNoWriMo.

9. Try not to overload my reading by getting 20 books from the library at one time

I haven’t had the best self control since I’ve moved home. It’s just so easy to get whatever you want!

10. Reach 100 followers!

I’m pretty close – and with the big 100 I might do a giveaway of one of the signed books I’ve gotten!

That’s it for now! Happy New Year everyone!

Freshly Published: January 2014

Happy New Year! Happy New month full of freshly published books!

(All covers summaries are from Goodreads)

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan (Uninvited #1)

Cover Uninvited

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Unhinged by A.G. Howard (Splintered #2)

Cover Unhinged

Alyssa Gardner has been down the rabbit hole and faced the bandersnatch. She saved the life of Jeb, the guy she loves, and escaped the machinations of the disturbingly seductive Morpheus and the vindictive Queen Red. Now all she has to do is graduate high school and make it through prom so she can attend the prestigious art school in London she’s always dreamed of.

That would be easier without her mother, freshly released from an asylum, acting overly protective and suspicious. And it would be much simpler if the mysterious Morpheus didn’t show up for school one day to tempt her with another dangerous quest in the dark, challenging Wonderland—where she (partly) belongs.

As prom and graduation creep closer, Alyssa juggles Morpheus’s unsettling presence in her real world with trying to tell Jeb the truth about a past he’s forgotten. Glimpses of Wonderland start to bleed through her art and into her world in very disturbing ways, and Morpheus warns that Queen Red won’t be far behind.

If Alyssa stays in the human realm, she could endanger Jeb, her parents, and everyone she loves. But if she steps through the rabbit hole again, she’ll face a deadly battle that could cost more than just her head.

Cemetery Girl: The Pretenders by Charlaine HarrisChristopher Golden (The Cemetery Girl Trilogy #1)

Cemetery Girl

Charlaine Harris, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels and the Harper Connelly Mysteries, and New York Times bestselling author Christopher Golden present an original graphic novel illustrated by acclaimed comic book artist Don Kramer—first in a brand-new trilogy.

She calls herself Calexa Rose Dunhill—names taken from the grim surroundings where she awoke, bruised and bloody, with no memory of who she is, how she got there, or who left her for dead.

She has made the cemetery her home, living in a crypt and avoiding human contact. But Calexa can’t hide from the dead—and because she can see spirits, they can’t hide from her.

Then one night, Calexa spies a group of teenagers vandalizing a grave—and watches in horror as they commit murder. As the victim’s spirit rises from her body, it flows into Calexa, overwhelming her mind with visions and memories not her own.

Now Calexa must make a decision: continue to hide to protect herself—or come forward to bring justice to the sad spirit who has reached out to her for help…

Sweet Lightning: A Novel by Peter S. Beagle

Sweet Lightning

With all the bittersweet charm of a bygone era, when baseball was the national religion and the Yankees an indomitable juggernaut, this uplifting fantasy novel pulls back the curtain on an amazingly improbable team of heroes, Pittsburgh’s own Pirates. It is 1956, and despite what history tells us, the legendary subway series between Mickey Mantle’s New York Yankees and the Brooklyn Dodgers never really happened. A mysterious stranger has arrived in town, and his magical intervention causes the Pirates to soar. But both heaven and hell have a stake in this season, and as the Pirates finally face the Yankees, the team and their star player are faced with challenges and consequences beyond anything they could have imagined. In Sweet Lightning, passion, political paranoia, integration, the struggle for a living wage, and a shot at the World Series merge with the pure transcendence at the heart of America’s pastime. Here’s the incredible story of a miraculous year, told by a passionate Pittsburgh Pirates fan and America’s foremost fantasist, Peter S. Beagle.

Terra Obscura: S.M.A.S.H. of Two Worlds by Alan MoorePeter HoganYanick Paquette (Terra Obscura #1-2)

Terra cover
On a planet known as Terra Obscura, Tom Strong’s heroic allies battle the forces of S.M.A.S.H. But after being out of action for decades and in suspended animation, can these heroes adjust to a strange world and its modern technology? This is a new collection from legendary writer Alan Moore (WATCHMEN, V FOR VENDETTA) that ties into his popular series Tom Strong. 

Collections TERRA OBSCURA Vol. 1 #1-6 and Vol. 2 #1-6.