Tag Archive | The Night Walkers Series

Freshly Published: June

Here we go! These titles have certainly caught my eye for this month! Pre-order now for exciting new titles this month!

Stand Alone

(Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

Forget Cover

Welcome to Gardnerville.

A place where no one gets sick. And no one ever dies.

Except…
There’s a price to pay for paradise. Every fourth year, the strange power that fuels the town exacts its payment by infecting teens with deadly urges. In a normal year in Gardnerville, teens might stop talking to their best friends. In a fourth year, they’d kill them.

Four years ago, Skylar’s sister, Piper, was locked away after leading sixteen of her classmates to a watery grave. Since then, Skylar has lived in a numb haze, struggling to forget her past and dull the pain of losing her sister. But the secrets and memories Piper left behind keep taunting Skylar—whispering that the only way to get her sister back is to stop Gardnerville’s murderous cycle once and for all.

Fan Art by Sarah Tregay

Fan art cover

When the picture tells the story…

Senior year is almost over, and Jamie Peterson has a big problem. Not college—that’s all set. Not prom—he’ll find a date somehow. No, it’s the worst problem of all: he’s fallen for his best friend.

As much as Jamie tries to keep it under wraps, everyone seems to know where his affections lie, and the giggling girls in art class are determined to help Jamie get together with Mason. But Jamie isn’t sure if that’s what he wants—because as much as Jamie would like to come clean to Mason, what if the truth ruins everything? What if there are no more road trips, taco dinners, or movie nights? Does he dare risk a childhood friendship for romance?

This book is about what happens when a picture reveals what we can’t say, when art is truer than life, and how falling in love is easy, except when it’s not. Fan Art explores the joys and pains of friendship, of pressing boundaries, and how facing our worst fears can sometimes lead us to what we want most.

Series Debut’s

Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Dark cover

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder’s mother is cursed with a spell that’s driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city’s secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they’re not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don’t always seem to stay that way.

Continued Series

Rain by Amanda Sun

Paper Gods #2

Rain cover

I love how different this series is! Plus the little drawings inside are a nice touch, I’m looking forward to getting back to Sun’s world. 

Paranoia by J. R.n Johansson

The Night Walkers #2

Paranoia cover

I was able to get an ARC for this series, so I’m happy to see the next instalment pop up! I want to see how the main character has faired. There are a lot of questions I need answers for!

That’s it for now! xx

Freshly Published: June 2013

How did we get to June already? Half the year gone and more books just begging to be read! (photos and summaries are from Goodreads)

The Impossibility of Tomorrow by Avery Williams (Incarnation #2)

Check out my review for the first book – The Alchemy of Forever (Incarnation #1)

Impossibility of tomorrow cover

The immortal Seraphina is forced to face the darkness of her past—and risk losing the love of her life—in this second novel in the Incarnation series.

Seraphina has been living for centuries, thanks to a special method of alchemy, but only recently has she really felt alive. She’s finally broken free from her controlling boyfriend, Cyrus, and after years of swapping bodies to preserve her immortality, is happily settled into a life worth sticking with. Because in this life, she has Noah.

But Noah might not be as trustworthy as he seems. After he delivers an ominous message that could only come from Cyrus, Sera is worried that her new friends and family will find out her secret. And as her suspicions extend beyond Noah, Sera is forced to wonder about her new friends as well: Could her old coven be disguising themselves right under her nose?

Will Sera have to move to another body—and take another life—or can she find a way to keep what she’s got, forever?

The wait is over!

Insomnia by J.R. Johansson (The Night Walkers #1)

Check out my review

Insomnia cover

It’s been four years since I slept, and I suspect it is killing me.

Instead of sleeping, Parker Chipp enters the dream of the last person he’s had eye contact with. He spends his nights crushed by other people’s fear and pain, by their disturbing secrets—and Parker can never have dreams of his own. The severe exhaustion is crippling him. If nothing changes, Parker could soon be facing psychosis and even death.

Then he meets Mia. Her dreams, calm and beautifully uncomplicated, allow him blissful rest that is utterly addictive. Parker starts going to bizarre lengths to catch Mia’s eye every day. Everyone at school thinks he’s gone over the edge, even his best friend. And when Mia is threatened by a true stalker, everyone thinks it’s Parker.

Suffering blackouts, Parker begins to wonder if he is turning into someone dangerous. What if the monster stalking Mia is him after all?

Boy Nobody by Allen Zadoff (Boy Nobody #1)

boy nobody cover

Boy Nobody is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school, in a new town, under a new name, makes few friends and doesn’t stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend’s family to die — of “natural causes.” Mission accomplished, Boy Nobody disappears, and moves on to the next target. 

When his own parents died of not-so-natural causes at the age of eleven, Boy Nobody found himself under the control of The Program, a shadowy government organization that uses brainwashed kids as counter-espionage operatives. But somewhere, deep inside Boy Nobody, is somebody: the boy he once was, the boy who wants normal things (like a real home, his parents back), a boy who wants out. And he just might want those things badly enough to sabotage The Program’s next mission.

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

The Moon and more cover

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

Sarah Dessen’s devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

In the After by Demitria Lunetta

In the After cover

They hear the most silent of footsteps.
They are faster than anything you’ve ever seen.
And They won’t stop chasing you…until you are dead.

Amy is watching TV when it happens, when the world is attacked by Them. These vile creatures are rapidly devouring mankind. Most of the population is overtaken, but Amy manages to escape—and even rescue “Baby,” a toddler left behind in the chaos. Marooned in Amy’s house, the girls do everything they can to survive—and avoid Them at all costs.

After years of hiding, they are miraculously rescued and taken to New Hope, a colony of survivors living in a former government research compound. While at first the colony seems like a dream with plenty of food, safety, and shelter, New Hope slowly reveals that it is far from ideal. And Amy soon realizes that unless things change, she’ll lose Baby—and much more.

Rebellious, courageous, and tender, this unforgettable duo will have you on the edge of your seat as you tear through the pulse-pounding narrow escapes and horrifying twists of fate in this thrilling debut from author Demitria Lunetta.

I’m way excited for summer reading! How about you?

Ashleyisee

xx

Book Review: Insomnia by J. R. Johansson

Insomnia cover

Screen shot 2013-04-29 at 13.13.19

Parker Chipp is not a normal teenage boy. He’s dying. Known as a ‘Watcher’, Parker is unique. He hasn’t slept in over five years. Instead of sleeping, every night he wanders, watching the dreams of whomever he’s last make eye contact with. The lack of rest is starting to take its toll until he meets Mia. New to town, her dreams are unlike anyone else’s.

But as Parker tries to befriend Mia, the more he frightens her. Someone is stalking Mia and posing the harassment as Parker. To make matters worse, Parker discovers that when he ‘sleeps’ sometimes he ventures out in the night doing who knows what.

As Parker tries to find Mia’s stalker he starts hitting walls of shock. With each step to keep Mia safe, he tumbles further into the Darkness. His curse is just that, but he’ll do whatever it takes to make sure Mia is safe even if it’s from himself.

Initially I loved the premise of the book. I’ve only got to problems with it. 1. It was too long. 2. The ending is lacking motive. Those two points aside, I really enjoyed learning about Parker’s curse. There is some romance in the book, but it’s not the driving force, which can come as a surprise.

Although the book is too long, the ending is really abrupt. There are plenty of loose ends hanging for the reader to want more, but it was sloppy. Nevertheless, I look forward to reading the next book. There are loads of questions that I hope get answered and I want to know more about being a Watcher!

This book is being published in the USA on June 8th, 2013. I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for honest review. Many thanks to Netgalley for the book, the publisher Flux and to J.R. Johansson for writing it!

Buy your advance copy today or put a hold request at your local library!