Freshly Published: January 2014

Happy New Year! Happy New month full of freshly published books!

(All covers summaries are from Goodreads)

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan (Uninvited #1)

Cover Uninvited

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Unhinged by A.G. Howard (Splintered #2)

Cover Unhinged

Alyssa Gardner has been down the rabbit hole and faced the bandersnatch. She saved the life of Jeb, the guy she loves, and escaped the machinations of the disturbingly seductive Morpheus and the vindictive Queen Red. Now all she has to do is graduate high school and make it through prom so she can attend the prestigious art school in London she’s always dreamed of.

That would be easier without her mother, freshly released from an asylum, acting overly protective and suspicious. And it would be much simpler if the mysterious Morpheus didn’t show up for school one day to tempt her with another dangerous quest in the dark, challenging Wonderland—where she (partly) belongs.

As prom and graduation creep closer, Alyssa juggles Morpheus’s unsettling presence in her real world with trying to tell Jeb the truth about a past he’s forgotten. Glimpses of Wonderland start to bleed through her art and into her world in very disturbing ways, and Morpheus warns that Queen Red won’t be far behind.

If Alyssa stays in the human realm, she could endanger Jeb, her parents, and everyone she loves. But if she steps through the rabbit hole again, she’ll face a deadly battle that could cost more than just her head.

Cemetery Girl: The Pretenders by Charlaine HarrisChristopher Golden (The Cemetery Girl Trilogy #1)

Cemetery Girl

Charlaine Harris, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels and the Harper Connelly Mysteries, and New York Times bestselling author Christopher Golden present an original graphic novel illustrated by acclaimed comic book artist Don Kramer—first in a brand-new trilogy.

She calls herself Calexa Rose Dunhill—names taken from the grim surroundings where she awoke, bruised and bloody, with no memory of who she is, how she got there, or who left her for dead.

She has made the cemetery her home, living in a crypt and avoiding human contact. But Calexa can’t hide from the dead—and because she can see spirits, they can’t hide from her.

Then one night, Calexa spies a group of teenagers vandalizing a grave—and watches in horror as they commit murder. As the victim’s spirit rises from her body, it flows into Calexa, overwhelming her mind with visions and memories not her own.

Now Calexa must make a decision: continue to hide to protect herself—or come forward to bring justice to the sad spirit who has reached out to her for help…

Sweet Lightning: A Novel by Peter S. Beagle

Sweet Lightning

With all the bittersweet charm of a bygone era, when baseball was the national religion and the Yankees an indomitable juggernaut, this uplifting fantasy novel pulls back the curtain on an amazingly improbable team of heroes, Pittsburgh’s own Pirates. It is 1956, and despite what history tells us, the legendary subway series between Mickey Mantle’s New York Yankees and the Brooklyn Dodgers never really happened. A mysterious stranger has arrived in town, and his magical intervention causes the Pirates to soar. But both heaven and hell have a stake in this season, and as the Pirates finally face the Yankees, the team and their star player are faced with challenges and consequences beyond anything they could have imagined. In Sweet Lightning, passion, political paranoia, integration, the struggle for a living wage, and a shot at the World Series merge with the pure transcendence at the heart of America’s pastime. Here’s the incredible story of a miraculous year, told by a passionate Pittsburgh Pirates fan and America’s foremost fantasist, Peter S. Beagle.

Terra Obscura: S.M.A.S.H. of Two Worlds by Alan MoorePeter HoganYanick Paquette (Terra Obscura #1-2)

Terra cover
On a planet known as Terra Obscura, Tom Strong’s heroic allies battle the forces of S.M.A.S.H. But after being out of action for decades and in suspended animation, can these heroes adjust to a strange world and its modern technology? This is a new collection from legendary writer Alan Moore (WATCHMEN, V FOR VENDETTA) that ties into his popular series Tom Strong. 

Collections TERRA OBSCURA Vol. 1 #1-6 and Vol. 2 #1-6.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s